Temecula Grapevine

Your source for Temecula, CA and Southwest Riverside County lifestyle, events, & area information

RISING STAR: Trinity Johnson Looks to the Future in Dance

Trinity-Jade-Johnson-Rising-Star-300x188Name: Trinity Jade Johnson

Age:11

School: David A. Brown Middle School

Specialty: Tap, Ballet, Jazz, Modern, Lyrical

Dance Schools: Imperial Dance Studio (in Brea), Gravity X Dance, and IVCBT
Dance Teachers: Todd Van Dorn, Kellie Jeanne Collins, Kendall & Kolleen Russo, Joan Gair, Theresa Cataldo, Sarah Tipton, Alida Carmona, Gabriella Cataldo and Svetlana Waisman
How many years have you been dancing?: 9
Trinity Johnson (c) Shawna Sarnowski

Trinity Johnson (c) Shawna Sarnowski

What is your favorite part of performing?

TRINITY: My favorite part of performing is being able to tell my story to the audience. My teacher, Ms. Kendall, always told me to do that and it has stuck in my brain. So when I am side-stage that’s what I tell myself to do. I love to hear the audience yelling my name and cheering me on. Especially my mom.

What do you feel makes you unique, as a performer?

TRINITY: I think what makes me a little more unique as a performer is… I have a smile on my face at all times when I’m on stage. I love being on that stage, and it’s like I’m a different person when I walk out there.

What do you do to relax,  after a performance?

TRINITY: The first thing that I do is take my eyelashes off and all my make-up (I don’t like make-up at all)! We usually go to BJ’s  Pizza or Chili’s with my friends to eat.  After the performances, I also get to go buy Duck Tape to I make cute things.
Trinity Johnson (c) Shawna Sarnowski Photography

Trinity Johnson (c) Shawna Sarnowski Photography

How to you psyche yourself up before performing?

TRINITY: I get butterflies before I perform all the time, but I think about buying Duck Tape, and my little Na-Na, and all my nerves go away when I walk out on stage.

Do you have any rituals (things you do — like a lucky charm, a special routine) prior to your performances?

TRINITY: My little Na-Na passed away last October and my Na-Na and Ta-ta gave me a guardian angle pin that I pin to every solo costume. So that she is always with me. I also, always look at the lucky charm that MaryAnne Russo sews into my costumes after she stones them all.

What is your favorite part about what you do?
TRINITY: EVERYTHING!!! I love everything about dance. I adore all my teachers. I enjoy having a lot of different teachers. It makes me a stronger dancer.

I have recently discovered a love for ballet productions. I got cast in my first ballet production which was Cinderella with IVCBT. It’s a totally different world. I’m hoping to get cast in the Nutcracker with the Anaheim Ballet. I have auditioned 2 times and haven’t made it in yet, but I’m not giving up and I am going to audition again soon. 3rd time is the charm!!!

What are your 3 top achievements: 

  • That’s Dancin Final 3rd. Place Overall for my Tap routine
  • Spotlight Dance Cup 2nd. Place Overall for my Ballet routine
  • Star Systems Dance Competition 10th Place Overall for my Ballet routine
What do you want to be when you grow up?

TRINITY: Okay, here we go!!! I want to be a prima ballerina, I would like to tap on Broadway, be excepted into a ballet company, an owner of a dance studio, a dance teacher, and I want to be like my tap teacher Todd Van Dorn and travel the world and dance.

Have you received any press you would like to mention?

I was on ICN TV with Sabrina Huang

 

Trinity Goes Social:
instagram: http://instagram.com/trinity.johnson
About Ashley Ludwig

Ashley Ludwig is an Editor for Patch News, Orange County and Los Angeles. She is also an inspirational romantic suspense author.

Leave a Reply

Grapevine Media…

About the author…

