Temecula Grapevine

Your source for Temecula, CA and Southwest Riverside County lifestyle, events, & area information

Temecula Wedding Photographer Anthony Carbajal diagnosed with ALS, Fundraising for family now underway by fellow photographers

Anthony Carbajal Photography 1 710x506 Having Your Dreams Ripped Away

In seconds, everything you know can change. Anthony Carbajal is a Wedding Photographer in Temecula, California was recently diagnosed with ALS. Now, fellow photographers, friends, and Temecula Valley Wine Country are working towards raising funds for his medical expenses and family. This story, told by fellow photographer, Sarah Williams, originally told on FStoppers.com, has been republished by permission.

Anthony Carbajal Photography 5 710x473 Having Your Dreams Ripped Away

During the past six months he noticed his hands becoming weaker and his arms had began twitching. He shook it off and tried to tell himself it was carpal tunnel. After both his mom and grandmother being diagnosed, he knew what it was: ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis).

ALS is commonly referred to as Lou Gehrig’s disease. It is a progressive neurodegenerative disease that effects the nerve cells in the brain and spinal cord. Motor Neurons die and lead to the inability for the brain to control any of the muscle movement. Anthony’s mother was diagnosed about ten years ago and his grandmother passed away from the disease when he was in high school. Anthony originally became a wedding photographer three years ago because it gave him the ability to work from home and take care of his mother.

Anthony Carbajal Photography 6 710x473 Having Your Dreams Ripped Away

He described it as “photography [being] something I’ve always been passionate about, but I never thought I could make a career out of my “hobby”… boy was I wrong. Starting a wedding photography business gave me the flexibility I needed for my mom and it was insanely fun… on weekends I would photograph “love” and on weekdays, I would help care for my mother and would edit in between.” In the past three years he has photographed about 120 weddings.

Anthony Carbajal Photography 3 710x506 Having Your Dreams Ripped AwayIt’s a hard thing to swallow, but it’s best told by Anthony.

“The past six months my hands became noticeably weaker and both arms began twitching constantly… My last few weddings I had difficulties changing my camera settings because my hands were so weak… I tried to convince myself it was carpal tunnel even though I knew these were the same symptoms my mother and grandmother experienced before they were diagnosed with ALS. I finally got health insurance and was seen by a neurologist… I was diagnosed on Monday January 27th. I had to cancel 26 weddings and need to return about $30,000 in deposits. I’m selling ALL my camera equipment to help refund all my brides and my family is attempting to raise money to help pay for my future medical insurance and costs, as well as my business expenses, and taxes.”

Anthony Carbajal Photography 4 710x473 Having Your Dreams Ripped Away

Anthony is probably one of the nicest and most caring people. He is insanely talented and it is a shame for the community to lose such an amazing contributor. His doctor informed him that carrying around his cameras during weddings will likely speed up the disease due to the intensity of the day and weight of the cameras. We live our day to day lives not realizing that there are things that can happen that will not allow us to pick up a camera for the rest of our lives. It takes away our creativity, our dreams and our outlets. If you’re interested in helping Anthony to help pay for his returned deposits or medical costs it would be greatly appreciated. Please head to  www.YouCaring.com/AnthonysArmy to help.

Anthony Carbajal Photography 2 710x473 Having Your Dreams Ripped Away
 Donate here: www.YouCaring.com/AnthonysArmy

Leave him something supportive here: www.facebook.com/AnthonyCarbajalPhotography

About Ashley Ludwig

Ashley Ludwig is an Editor for Patch News, Orange County and Los Angeles. She is also an inspirational romantic suspense author.

One comment on “Temecula Wedding Photographer Anthony Carbajal diagnosed with ALS, Fundraising for family now underway by fellow photographers

  1. Anthony Carbajal
    February 25, 2014

    Thank you so much for sharing my story… means the world to me, my family and the ALS community – Anthony Carbajal

    Like

Leave a Reply

Grapevine Media…

About the author…

